Markus Schmidmeier
Mathematical Sciences
Florida Atlantic University

Introductory Number Theory

Homework assignments

All problem numbers refer to our textbook by G. E. Andrews, Number Theory.

Textbook
Sections

Problems
 

due
 

1.1 Mathematical Induction 1-1/2, 3, 5, 7, 13, 14 PDF Thursday, 1/10
1.1, 1.2: Basis Representation 1-1/ 8, 9, 10; 1-2/ 1, 2, 3, 6 Thursday, 1/17
2.1, 2.2: Divisibility 2-1/ 4, 5, 6; 2-2/ 1, 2, 3. Thursday, 1/24
2.2, 2.3: Diophantine equations 2-2/ 4, 5, 12; 2-3: 1, 2, 3 Thursday, 1/31
2.4/ Fundamental Theorem 2-4/ 1, 3-8 Thursday, February 7
3.2/ Fermat's Little Theorem 3-2/1-5 Thursday, February 14
4.1, 5.1: Modular arithmetic, linear equations 4-1/ 2, 3, 4; 5-1/ 1, 2 Thursday, February 28
Midterm Exam Thursday, February 21
5.2/ Euler's Theorem 5-2/ 1, 2, 5, 6, 14, 19 Thursday, March 14
5.3/ Chinese Remainder Theorem 5-3/ 1, 2, 4, 5, 6 Thursday, March 21
6.1/ Euler φ-function 6-1/ 1, 2, 6, 7, 13, 15 Thursday, March 28
6.2: Divisors 6-2/ 1, 2, 4, 9, 10, 11 Thursday, April 4
6.3: Multiplicative functions 6-3/ 1, 6-4/ 1 Thursday, April 11
6.4: Moebius inversion, 15.1: Lattice points 6-4/ 2, 3; 15-1/ 1. Thursday, April 18

Last modified:  by Markus Schmidmeier