Department of Mathematical Sciences
Instructor:  Markus Schmidmeier
Spring 2014

Linear Algebra II ---  Homework assignments

All problem numbers refer to our textbook by Sheldon Axler, Linear Algebra Done Right

Textbook
Sections

Problems
 

due
 

Chapter 1: Vector spaces 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 just some easy warm-up problems
Chapter 1: Subspaces 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Friday, January 10
Sums 1.13, 1.14, 1.15 Friday, January 17
Linear independent and spanning sets 2.1, 2.2, 2.4 Friday, January 24
Finite dimensionality and bases 2.6, 2.8, 2.9 Friday, January 31
Finite dimensionality and bases 2.13, 2.14, 2.15 Friday, February 7
Linear maps 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 on Friday, February 14, I will collect the homework for grading
Midterm ExamFriday, February 21
Range and null space 3.5, 3.7, 3.9, 3.12 Friday, February 28
The matrix of a linear map 3.13, 3.14, 3.19, 3.20 Friday, March 14 (π-Day)
The matrix of a linear map 3.15, 22, 23 Friday, March 21
Polynomials 4.1, 5 Friday, March 28
Linear operators 5.1, 2, 5, 6 Friday, April 4. I will collect the homework for grading.
Linear operators 5.7, 9, 10, 12 Friday, April 11.
Linear operators 5.17, 18, 19, 21 Friday, April 18.

Last modified:  by Markus Schmidmeier