Department of Mathematical Sciences
Instructor:  Markus Schmidmeier
Spring 2014

Differential Equations ---  Homework assignments



All problem numbers refer to our textbook by Boyce and DiPrima. Extra Credit

Extra credit problems will be assigned later, in green. Please note:
  • Use a computer algebra system like Maple or Sage that can deal with symbolic computations.
  • Insert comments on your worksheet to make make it readable for someone who is not an expert!
  • Don't forget to include your name.
  • Please submit the final version in printed form and send me an e-mail with the worksheet.
  • There will be two extra credit assignments; each is up to 5 points, the points count towards the quiz grade.


Textbook
Sections

Problems
 

due
 

1.2: Some Differential Equations 1.1/ 15-20; 1.2/ 1, 3, 5, 7, 13, 14. Friday, January 9
2.1: First Order Linear Differential Equations 2.1/ 1, 3, 13, 15, 24, 28, 34, 36. Friday, January 16
2.2: Separable Equations 2.2/ 4, 8, 12, 16, 29. Friday, January 23
2.3: Modeling 2.3/ 2, 3, 7 - 10. Friday, January 30
2.5: The autonomous equation 2.5/ 2, 4, 8, 10, 12 Friday, February 6
2.6+7: Exact equations; Euler's method 2.6/ 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13, 18, 20; 2.7/ 2, 5. Friday, February 13
3.1+2: Linear Homogeneous Equations 3.1/ 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24; 3.2/ 4, 8. Friday, February 20
3.2+3: The Wronskian, complex roots 3.2/ 13, 14, 26, 30; 3.3/ 4, 8, 12, 18, 20, 27. Friday, February 27
3.4, 5: Repeated roots, undetermined coefficients 3.4/ 3, 6, 12, 14; 3.5/ 4, 8, 16, 18 Friday, March 13
Extra Credit 3.4/15, 3.5/ 25 Wednesday, March 25
3.6: Variation of parameters; 4.1: higher order equations 3.6/ 2, 6, 14; 4.1/ 2, 4, 7, 8, 12, 16 Friday, March 20
4.1, 4.2 Higher order equations 4.1/ 8, 9, 12, 14, 18; 4.2/ 14, 18, 30, 32, 37 Friday, March 27
4.1, 4.2 Higher order equations 4.3/ 4, 6, 14, 16; 7.3/ 2, 4, 8, 10, 18, 22 Friday, April 3
Extra Credit 7.6/ 12, 16 Wednesday, April 15
7.5 Homogeneous linear systems with constant coefficients 7.5/ 2, 4, 7, 10, 12, 15, 16 Friday, April 10
7.6 Complex eigenvalues, electric circuits 7.1/ 19, 20; 7.6/ 2, 4, 10, 25, 26 Friday, April 17

Last modified:  by Markus Schmidmeier