Department of Mathematical Sciences
Instructor:  Markus Schmidmeier
Spring 2012

Calculus I ---  Homework assignments

All problem numbers refer to our textbook by Strange, Introduction to Calculus.

For extra credit:
  • Use a computer algebra system like Maple.
  • Insert comments on your worksheet to make clear what you are doing!
  • Don't forget to include your name.
  • Please submit the final version in printed form.


Textbook
Sections

Problems
 

due
 

1.3: The velocity at an instant 1.3/ 1 - 9, 15, 17 Friday, January 13
2.1, 2.2 The derivative of a polynomial and a power function 2.1/ 2, 4, 5, 6, 7; 2.2/ 2-10, 13, 21. Friday, January 20
2.3, 2.4 Secant, tangent and normal lines, sin and cos 2.3/ 2, 4, 5, 11; 2.4/ 2, 3, 6, 9, 10 Friday, January 27
2.5, 2.6 Rules for derivatives, Limits 2.5/ 1-16 (sorry, all are important), 28; 2.6/ 1, 2, 8, 10, 12, 14 Friday, February 3
2.6, 2.7, 3.1 Continuity, Approximation 2.6/ 10, 12, 14; 2.7/ 21, 22, 23; 3.1/ 2, 4, 8, 10 Friday, February 10
3.1, 3.2: Approximation, minima and maxima 3.1/ 8, 10; 3.2/ 2, 3, 4, 13, 18, 19, 39, 40 Friday, February 17
3.3, 3.4: Second derivative, graphing Ning's min/max problems (handout week 7); 3.3/ 1-4, 13, 19; 3.4/ 3, 5, 7, 19 Friday, February 24 (Midterm Exam)
3.8: Mean Value Theorem, l'Hôpital's Rule 3.8/ 1, 2, 13-22, 25, 26, 27, 28, 36 Friday, February 31
4.1, 4.2: The Chain Rule 4.1/ 1-26 (I know it's a lot, but this summarizes differentiation), 32; 4.2/ 3, 4, 12 Friday, March 16
Extra Credit 4.1/ 60. In addition, find the coordinates of the extremal points for F''(x) and G''(x) in the interval x∈[0,2π]. Hint: For the last part, the Maple command fsolve may help. Friday, April 6
4.2, 4.3: Related rates, inverse functions 4.2/ 21, 23; 4.3/ 4, 6, 8, 10, 12. Friday, March 23
4.4, 5.2: Inverse functions of trigonometric functions, antiderivatives 4.4/ 11, 15, 18, 20, 22; 5.2/ 2, 4, 6, 8, 10. Friday, March 30
5.3, 5.4: Indefinite integrals, substitution 5.3/ 1, 3, 5; 5.4/ 1-32: Solve as many as you can! Check your answer by differentiating! Friday, April 6
5.5, 5.6, 5.7: Definite integrals, average, the Fundamental Theorem 5.5/ 11-16; 5.6/ 2, 4, 6, 9, 12; 5.7/ 2, 4, 6, 8. Friday, April 13
Extra Credit There are several options. (A) 5.6/ 26. In your report, describe how you realize the experiment, and do the 10 repetitions. (B) Create graphs of two of the functions in 3.4/ 33-38, and specify all extremal points and inflection points! Friday, April 20
5.6, average, and 6.2, 6.3 exponential function and applications 5.6/ 2, 4, 6, 9, 12 (as before); 6.2/ 11-15, 31-35, 45-49; for the Final Exam, not on Quiz 13: 6.3/ 11, 15, 16. Friday, April 20

Last modified:  by Markus Schmidmeier